Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Who We Are 2007

The 2007 Operating Board took over January 2007 and Rachel Hauck was invited to join the Advisory Board.

The ACFW Chicago Northwest Chapter, located in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, became the first new chapter of 2007, and before January was over CWOW: Christian Writers of the West was established in Arizona.

Cheryl Wyatt and Camy Tang agreed to coordinate the Book of the Year Contest and Genesis Contest respectively.

The Scholarship Program for 2007 was announced in January. The awards would consist of two registration and hotel compensations and nine registration-only scholarships.

As in other years, personnel changes came with the beginning of the year. Dineen Miller became the new interviewer for the Featured Author segment on the website, replacing Staci Wilder, and Cynthia Ruchti became new Topic of the Week Coordinator.

In February, Sydney Zech agreed to coordinate ACFW’s 2007 conference.

February and March brought two more ACFW chapters into the fold: Low Country ACFW in Charleston, SC and the Alamo City Christian Fiction Writers in San Antonio, TX.

The Operating Board met in St. Charles, IL (suburb of Chicago) for its face-to-face spring meeting. Much discussion centered around the 2007 conference and future conferences.

During April Peg Phifer stepped down as treasurer and Pam Hillman replaced her.

Lisa Tuttle resigned from her webmaster duties and was replaced by Carl Nasal.

April brought personnel changes in the email loop team with Camy Tang agreeing to take over a moderator position vacated by Jennifer Tiszai and Betsy St. Amant replacing Ronie Kendig in the other moderator position. At the same time, Tiff Colter replaced Kaye Dacus as the Online Workshop Coordinator. After successfully coordinating the ACFW Book Club since its inception, Pam Hillman handed the reins over to Michelle Rodgers, who had been working as one of Pam’s assistants.

Another Colorado chapter took shape in Colorado Springs during April with W!W!W! Worship! Write! Witness! which meets at the Focus on the Family site.

May brought great activity as the Book of the Year and Genesis deadlines passed and judging began.

The Operating Board announced in May that ACFW would present an Agent of the Year Award and an Editor of the Year Award at the 2007 National Conference. Members were invited to nominate people for these awards and a separate judging committee for each award evaluated the nominations to determine the winners.

During May the Northwest got into the chapter action forming the Portland Area Chapter. Then in June another Texas chapter took off when the CenTex Chapter out of Round Rock, TX, was established. As of June, ACFW had 13 local chapters.

In July Jill Eileen Smith was asked to be The ACFW New Releases Coordinator. She would report monthly about new releases of ACFW authors. She would also provide HTML code of the list for members to post on their blogs.

As of the second week in July, 316 people had registered for the conference. Expectations were that 500 people would attend.

In September, the combined boards voted to add the position of Membership Officer to the Operating Board. Nominations for the position will take place in October when the Secretary and Treasurer positions will also be open for election.

On September 20, 2007, 500-plus attendees gathered in Dallas, Texas, for the 2007 National Conference. Many arrived early to take advantage of the two early-bird offerings or to just make connections with old and new friends. On Thursday evening after a sit-down meal of lasagna accompanied by good fellowship, conferees were treated to an agent panel, followed by an editor panel. From that event people dispersed to the Late Night Chats, each headed up by representatives from a participating publisher. Also included was a three-person panel of agents who gave instant reviews of one-sheets, proposals, and back-cover blurbs provided by the audience.

James Scott Bell was the keynote speaker on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday, including a hilarious rendition of “The Hairy Man” song before Sunday morning worship.

Worship was again led by Rachel Hauck and her praise team, singing favorites like Here I Am to Worship, Your Name, Favorite One, Blessed Be the Name, and many more.

Saturday night’s award banquet provided an elegant way to honor ACFW’s award winners, including:

Wendy Lawton - Agent of the Year, 

Krista Stroever/Steeple Hill - Editor of the Year 

Linda Kozar - Mentor of the Year.

The Operating Board chose Cynthia Ruchti to receive the very first ACFW Member Service Award as a member volunteer who has gone above and beyond in service to ACFW.

In addition, the founders of ACFW were honored with commemorative plaques and past Operating Board members were also presented with certificates.

The awards evening ended with announcements of the first, second and third place winners of the 2007 Book of the Year and Genesis winners.

Click here for the 2007 Finalists and Winners for the Genesis Contest.
Click here for the 2007 Finalists and Winners of the Book of the Year Award.

In October nominations were taken for the board offices of secretary, treasurer, and membership director. Voting occurred in November and on December 1, 2007, the slate of officers for 2008 was announced:

President – Robin Miller 
Vice President – Pamela James 

Volunteer Officer - Michelle Hutchinson 

Publicity Officer - Cara Putman 

Zone Officer - Ane Mulligan 

Secretary - Pam Meyers 

Treasurer - Pam Hillman 

Membership Officer - Rebecca Yauger

ACFW Testimonials