Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Who We Are 2010

In January of 2010, the ACFW operating board consisted of:

• President - Cynthia Ruchti 

• Vice-President - Becky Yauger

• Membership Officer - Sharon Lavy

• Publicity Officer - Angie Breidenbach 

• Secretary - Danica Favorite-McDonald 

• Treasurer - Vickie McDonough

• Volunteer Officer - Margaret Daley

• Zone Officer - Ane Mulligan

Key Volunteers and Staff for 2010 were:

e-Loop List Hostesses - Georgiana Daniels/Camy Tang 

e-Loop Moderators - Camy Tang/Betsy St. Amant 

ACFW Web Team - Carl Nasal 

Book of the Year Contest - Mindy Obenhaus 

Genesis Contest - Camy Tang 

Conference Director - Robin Miller 

Afictionado Editor- Mike Ehret 

Topic of the Week Coordinator - Syndi Powell 

Verse of the Week Coordinator - Martha Rogers 

Author Interview Coordinator - Dineen Miller

New Releases Coordinator - Pam Meyers 

Book Club Coordinator- Nora St. Laurent

In early 2010, the Scholarship Program through the ACFW Scholarship Foundation received 54 applications.

In March 2010, Operating Board members and four Advisory Board members traveled to the Hyatt Regency in Indianapolis for their spring meetings. During that time, they were able to inspect the hotel site for the 2010 conference and develop several new programs for ACFW.

In June 2010, at the International Christian Retail Show, ACFW announced a major change to its Book of the Year contest. In honor of Carol Johnson, a pioneer in Christian fiction, ACFW’s awards for published authors were renamed The Carol Awards.

In July 2010, ACFW launched its Novel Track: Writing program, aimed at helping members achieve their word count goals. Collectively, participants wrote over 1.4 million words in July. The program expanded to Novel Track: Editing in November. Novel Track: Polishing was proposed to be added in future months. Running quarterly, each piece of the Novel Track program was designed to help ACFW members write, edit, and submit their books.

On September 17 the 2010 the ACFW National Conference opened at the Hyatt Regency in Indianapolis, IN. Bestselling author James Scott Bell gave an Early Bird seminar designed to help writers take their fiction to the next level. Keynote speaker was Christy award-winning author Tim Downs, whose message reminded the more than 600 attendees of the importance of story.

On behalf of ACFW, president Cynthia Ruchti presented ACFW’s inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award to Christian Fiction pioneer Carol Johnson. New logos and pins for the Carol Award and the Genesis Contest were revealed during the conference as well.

Local chapters numbered 23 in 2010, with an additional Beyond-the-Borders online chapter for international members. The ACFW online book club boasted 1,350 members. The revamped critique group system—Scribes—marked its one year anniversary with 207 members with 23 smaller critique groups formed from that pool. Genre loops were introduced in 2010 to supplement ACFW’s main e-mail loop. Genre loops offer genre-specific information, research helps, and craft education in addition to what’s available on the main loop. The Awards Gala featured a tribute to Christian fiction and Carol Johnson, with a special presentation featuring Janette Oke, the author acquired by Mrs. Johnson, propelling Christian fiction forward. Mrs. Johnson remained to help with the presentation of the Carol Awards.

After the Awards Gala, past and current winners and finalists of the Carol Award and the Genesis received pins honoring their accomplishment.

Awards presented at the Gala included:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Carol Johnson

Mentor of the Year: Susan May Warren

Editor of the Year:  Sue Brower, Zondervan

Agent of the Year: Sandra Bishop

Member Service Award:  Fay Lamb

Click here for the 2010 Genesis Award Winners.
Click here for the 2010 Carol Award Winners.

The Advisory Board announced new positions designed to help ACFW fulfill its mission: To promote Christian fiction through developing the skills of its authors, educating them in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional publishing industry. The Advisors appointed Cynthia Ruchti as Professional Relations Liaison to work toward furthering ACFW’s goals and missions to promote Christian fiction and ACFW relationships within the industry. They also appointed Becky Yauger as Web Manager to coordinate and manage the web site, including Fiction Finder, and to update information and work with ACFW’s Webmaster as needed.

ACFW membership had reached greater than 2200 members by the close of 2010.


ACFW Testimonials