Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Who We Are 2011

In January of 2011, the ACFW operating board consisted of:

• President - Margaret Daley

• Vice-President - Richard Mabry

• Membership Officer - Sharon Lavy

• Publicity Officer - Kristin Billerbeck, who resigned in March and was replaced by Cara Putman

• Secretary - Danica Favorite-McDonald 

• Treasurer - Vickie McDonough

• Volunteer Officer - Kim Sawyer

• Zone Officer - Eileen Key

Key Volunteers and Staff for 2011 were:

e-Loop List Hostesses - Georgiana Daniels/Camy Tang 

e-Loop Moderators - Camy Tang/Betsy St. Amant
ACFW Web Manager - Becky Yauger 

Carol Awards Coordinator- Mindy Obenhaus 

Genesis Contest Coordinator- Camy Tang
Conference Director - Robin Miller
Afictionado Editor- Mike Ehret 

Topic of the Week Coordinator - Syndi Powell 

Verse of the Week Coordinator - Martha Rogers 

Author Interview Coordinator - Dineen Miller

New Releases Coordinator - Pam Meyers 

Book Club Coordinator - Nora St. Laurent
Professional Relations Liaison – Cynthia Ruchti

In early 2011, the Scholarship Program through the ACFW Scholarship Foundation received 60 applications.

In February 2011, the Friends of ACFW program was initiated offering Bronze, Silver, and Gold membership levels with benefits for each level.

Also in February, the Operating Board members and six Advisory Board members traveled to the Hyatt Regency Downtown at the Arch in St. Louis for their spring meetings. During that time, they were able to inspect the hotel site for the 2011 conference, discuss ACFW business, and develop several new programs for the members.

In May 2011, the Board accepted the resignation of Camy Tang as List Hostess and Moderator. The duties of List Hostess and Moderator were combined into the List Hostess position and Georgiana Daniels and Betsy St. Amant agreed to share that position. Camy Tang also stepped down as coordinator of the ACFW Genesis Contest. Pam Meyers agreed to take over as coordinator.
Pam Meyers resigned as New Releases Coordinator in December 2011. Web Manager Becky Yauger agreed to fill that position, effective December 2011.

ACFW’s presence at the International Christian Retail Show continued its connections within the industry and its advocacy for Christian Fiction.

In October of 2011, ACFW received an award from Christian Retailing in recognition of ACFW’s “efforts to promote the ministry impact of Christian fiction and to help retailers through initiatives like the database, which provides a guide to Christian authors and categories by themes and content.”

On September 22, 2011, the ACFW National Conference opened at the Hyatt Regency at the Arch in St. Louis, MO. Stanley D. Williams presented an Early Bird seminar on “The Moral Premise.” Multi-published author and ACFW co-founder Tracie Peterson served as keynote speaker, encouraging writers not to give up and helping them remember for whom they write and why.

At the conference, president Margaret Daley announced that beginning in 2013, the Genesis Contest would accept only entries from completed manuscripts. She also announced the development of an ACFW print magazine, the ACFW Journal.

Awards presented during the Awards Gala included:

2011 Lifetime Achievement Award: Tracie Peterson

2011 Mentor of the Year: Bonnie Calhoun

2011 Editor of the Year: Andrea Doering - Revell

2011 Agent of the Year: Rachelle Gardner with WordServe Literary

2011 Member Service Award: Janna Ryan

Click here for the 2011 Genesis Award Winners.
Click here for the 2011 Carol Award Winners.

By the end of 2011, ACFW’s membership had grown to approximately 2359 members.


ACFW Testimonials