Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Press Room

  • 2014 ACFW Conference Awards

    For immediate release, September 27, 2014


    ST LOUIS, MO:  Capping the organization’s three-day annual conference of training in the craft of Christian fiction, educating in the market, and brainstorming innovations for advancing Christian fiction within the industry and beyond, American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) celebrated their awards gala Saturday evening, September 27, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Downtown at the Arch in St. Louis.

    Present at the gala were nearly 600 conference attendees, industry professionals, and guests to note significant honors within the world of Christian fiction.

    Announced in June at ICRS, prolific author and writing mentor Robin Lee Hatcher received the 2014 ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award. ACFW CEO Colleen Coble says, “When we bestow this award, we look not just at awards and body of work but at how the recipient gives back to the industry. Robin has won many accolades over her 30 years (and counting) career. Not only is Robin Lee Hatcher a gifted writer,” says Coble, “but she takes time to nurture aspiring writers as well.”

    Other notable honors awarded during the gala are as follows:

    2014 Agent of the Year:  Chip MacGregor – MacGregor Literary
    2014 Editor of the Year:  Vicki Crumpton – Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing Group
    2014 Mentor of the Year:  Julie Klassen
    2014 Volunteer Service Award:  Martha Rogers

    The Genesis Contest recognizes excellence in unpublished manuscripts. The 2014 Genesis Award winners announced at the ACFW awards gala by category are:

    Jennifer Sienes

    Heidi Chiavaroli
    Tears of the Outcast

    Historical Romance
    Kristi Ann Hunter
    My Lord Valet

    Dennis Ricci
    Perilous Judgment

    Peggy Trotter

    Laurie Tomlinson
    Just Breathe

    Romantic Suspense
    Michelle Lim
    Sketching Evil

    Short Novel
    Candee Fick
    Serving Up Love

    Megan Ebba
    Tangled in Gold

    Young Adult
    Sara Ella

    The much-acclaimed 2014 Carol Award winners for excellence in Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year by category are as follows:

    Katherine Reay
    Dear Mr. Knightley
    HarperCollins Christian Publishing
    Editors: Becky Monds, Natalie Hanemann, L.B. Norton

    Debut Novel
    Katherine Reay
    Dear Mr. Knightley
    (See above)

    Julie Cantrell
    When Mountains Move
    David C. Cook
    Editors: Ingrid Beck, John Blase

    Historical Romance
    Jody Hedlund
    A Noble Groom
    Bethany House (Baker) Publishing
    Editor: Dave Long

    Terri Blackstock
    Truth Stained Lies
    HarperCollins Christian Publishing
    Editors: Dave Lambert, Sue Brower, Ellen Tarver

    Melissa Jagears
    Love by the Letter
    Bethany House (Baker) Publishing
    Editor: Raela Schoenherr

    Becky Wade
    Undeniably Yours
    Bethany House (Baker) Publishing
    Editors: Sarah Long, Charlene Patterson

    Romantic Suspense
    Dana Mentink
    Jungle Fire
    River North (Moody Publishers)
    Editor: Deb Keiser

    Short Novel
    Tina Radcliffe
    Mending the Doctor’s Heart
    Love Inspired (Harlequin)
    Editor: Rachel Burkot

    Patrick W. Carr
    A Cast of Stones
    Bethany House (Baker) Publishing
    Editors: Dave Long, Karen Schurrer

    Young Adult
    Melody Carlson
    A Simple Song
    Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing Group
    Editors: Lonnie Hull-DuPont, Wendy Wetzel

    ACFW continues to make a mark as a forerunner in Christian fiction training, education in the market, and advocacy for the Christian publishing industry. Its nearly 3,000 members nationally and internationally focus on creating stories worth telling, stories worth reading. For more information about ACFW, contact or