Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Press Room

  • 2014 Carol Award Finalists

    For release Monday, June 23, 2014 AFTER 2:00 pm EDT


    Atlanta, GA:  At a press conference at the International Christian Retail Show in Atlanta, Georgia, American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) announced the finalists for the 2014 Carol Awards in eleven categories of Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year. Christian fiction editing pioneer Carol Johnson, in whose honor the Carol Award is named, opened the press conference with inspiring words about the power of story.

    ACFW CEO Colleen Coble also announced the 2014 recipient of the ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award—prolific author and mentor Robin Lee Hatcher. Of Hatcher, Coble said, “Not only is Robin a gifted writer, but she takes time to nurture aspiring writers as well. Her well-drawn characters and heartwarming stories of faith, courage, and love have earned her both critical acclaim and the devotion of readers.” Robin Lee Hatcher will receive her award at the Awards Gala at the ACFW conference in St. Louis on September 27. The winners of the Carol Awards, Genesis Contest (for best unpublished manuscript), and other honors also will be announced at the Gala.

    The following are the 2014 Carol Award finalists:

    Debut Novel

    The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah Ladd (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editor Natalie Hanemann)
    Jasmine by April McGowan (WhiteFire Publishing, editor Roseanna White)
    Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Becky Monds, Natalie Hanneman, L.B. Norton)


    The Language of Sparrows by Rachel Phifer (David C. Cook, editor Tonya Osterhouse)
    Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Becky Monds, Natalie Hanneman, L.B. Norton)
    The Dance by Gary Smalley and Dan Walsh (Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing Group, editor Andrea Doering)


    When Mountains Move by Julie Cantrell (David C. Cook, editors Ingrid Beck, John Blase)
    Snow on the Tulips by Liz Tolsma (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Becky Philpott, Julee Schwarzburg, Jodi Hughes)
    Claudia, Wife of Pontius Pilate by Diana Wallis Taylor (Revell - A Division of Baker Publishing Group, editor Lonnie Hull Dupont)

    Historical Romance

    Into the Whirlwind by Elizabeth Camden (Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editor Raela Schoenherr)
    A Noble Groom by Jody Hedlund (Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editor Dave Long)
    The Governess of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky (Waterbrook Multnomah [Random House], editors Shannon Marchese, Karen Ball)


    Truth Stained Lies by Terri Blackstock (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Dave Lambert, Sue Brower, Ellen Tarver)
    Dark Justice by Brandilyn Collins (B&H Publishing, editors Karen Ball, Julie Gwinn)
    Fear Has a Name by Creston Mapes (David C. Cook, editors L.B. Norton, Jack Campbell)


    An Ever After Summer from A Bride for all Seasons by Debra Clopton (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editor Ami McConnell)
    Love by the Letter by Melissa Jagears (Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editor Raela Schoenherr)
    A Christmas Prayer by Linda Wood Rondeau (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, editor Amberlynn Noelle)


    Silver Bells by Deborah Raney (Summerside Press [Guideposts], editor Rachel Meisel)
    Catch a Falling Star by Beth K. Vogt (Howard [Simon & Schuster], editor Jessica Wong)
    Undeniably Yours by Becky Wade, Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editors Sarah Long, Charlene Patterson)

    Romantic Suspense

    Trapped by Irene Hannon (Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing Group, editor Jennifer Leep)
    Vanished by Irene Hannon (Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing Group, editor Jennifer Leep)
    Jungle Fire by Dana Mentink (River North [Moody Publishers], editor Deb Keiser)

    Short Novel

    Seaside Blessings by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired [Harlequin], editor Melissa Endlich)
    The Doctor’s Family Reunion by Mindy Obenhaus (Love Inspired [Harlequin], editor Melissa Endlich)
    Mending the Doctor’s Heart by Tina Radcliffe (Love Inspired [Harlequin], editor Rachel Burkot)


    A Cast of Stones by Patrick W. Carr (Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editors Dave Long, Karen Schurrer)
    The Hero’s Lot by Patrick W. Carr (Bethany House [Baker] Publishing, editors Dave Long, Karen Schurrer)
    The Sinners’ Garden by William Sirls (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Natalie Hanemann, Lisa Bergren)

    Young Adult

    A Simple Song by Melody Carlson (Revell – A Divison of Baker Publishing Group, editors Lonnie Hull Dupont, Wendy Wetzel)
    Captives by Jill Williamson (HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Jacque Alberta, Jeff Gerke)
    Project Gemini by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press, editor Jeff Gerke)

    Year after year, a vast majority of Christian fiction published by CBA is entered into the Carol Awards. From that pool of excellent work, judges pull three from each category that stand out in storytelling ability, reader enjoyment, and significance. ACFW congratulates these finalists and anticipates another memorable gala during which the Carols and other awards will take center stage in the publishing world.

    Among the additional honors awarded that night will be Editor of the Year and Agent of the Year. The 2014 nominees for these awards are:

    Editor of the Year:
    Vicki Crumpton, Revell – A division of Baker Publishing Group
    Nicola Martinez, White Rose Publications [Pelican]
    Nicole O’Dell, Choose Now Publishing

    Agent of the Year:
    Linda S. Glaz – Hartline Literary
    Joyce Hart – Hartline Literary
    Chip MacGregor – MacGregor Literary

    ACFW continues to make a mark as a forerunner in Christian fiction training, education in the market, and advocacy for the Christian publishing industry. Its 2,700 members nationally and internationally focus on creating stories worth telling, stories worth reading. For more information about ACFW, contact or