Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Press Room


    ACFW is pleased to publicize the names of the 2010 Genesis finalists. Since its inception in 2002, the Genesis contest (originally named the Noble Theme) has been the leading fiction contest for unpublished Christian writers.

    “The Genesis is the premier contest in the Christian Booksellers Association for the unpublished. It’s THE place to get noticed by a publisher.” – Colleen Coble, CEO of ACFW.


    Cindy Hays
    Lynnette P. Horner
    Chris Kraft
    Mark Lundgren
    Christina S. Nelson

    Jeannie Campbell
    Sarah Forgrave
    Janice LaQuiere
    Rebecca Syme
    Linda Yezak

    Lori Benton
    Brenda Jackson
    Robert Kaku
    Lisa Karon Richardson
    Katie-Marie Stout

    Susanne Dietze
    Anne Greene
    Pam Hillman
    Lisa Karon Richardson
    Ruth Trippy

    Rich Bullock
    Barbara Early (double finalist with two entries)
    Lynda Schab
    Chawna Schroeder
    ROMANTIC SUSPENSE (two-way tie for the fifth finalist slot)

    Valerie Goree
    Mindy Obenhaus
    Leslie Pfeil
    Dianna Shuford
    Teri Dawn Smith
    Terri Weldon

    Ben Erlichman
    Suzanne Krein
    Shelley Ledfors
    Andra Marquardt
    Holly Smit
    WOMEN’S FICTION (three-way tie for the fifth finalist slot)

    Lisa Buffaloe
    Jennifer Fromke
    Terri Haynes
    Fay Lamb
    Christina S. Nelson
    Melissa Tagg
    Michelle Ule

    Angela Bell
    Lin Harris
    Kasey Heinly
    LoraLee Kodzo
    Stefanie Morris
    ACFW president Cynthia Ruchti notes that over the life of the contest, a significant number of Genesis finalists have gone on to publication. “Among them are authors who are now multipublished and whose books appear consistently on CBA and ECPA bestseller lists, and those whose published works receive recognition through readers’ choice and industry-awarded honors. That speaks highly of the role of the Genesis Contest in helping launch author careers.”

    From airport newsstands to Newsweek, Christian fiction continues to grow in popularity, resonating with readers looking for both faith and fiction. The growth of the genre has birthed many new writers, as evidenced by the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). ACFW has over 2000 members worldwide, consisting of authors, editors, agents, publicists and aspiring writers. The Genesis contest is the only contest with ONLY inspirational categories.

    Winners of the Genesis contest will be announced on September 19, 2010 during the awards event at the ACFW Annual Conference in Indianapolis, Indiana.