Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

Press Room

  • ICRS Press Conference Highlights Carol Award Finalists

    ACFW Announces 2013 Carol Award Finalists
    and Pays Tribute to ACFW Lifetime Achievement Recipient Frank Peretti

    HOLD for release until 11 am CDT, Monday, June 24
    Palm Bay, FL

    The 2013 ACFW Carol Award finalists for the best in Christian fiction were announced during a press conference by
    The American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) June 24 at ICRS in St. Louis, MO.

    Honoring Christian fiction in a number of categories, the Carol Awards—named for Christian fiction pioneering editor Carol Johnson—listed these finalists, judged by readers, multi-published authors, retailers, and librarians.

    Seaside Reunion by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired * Editor: Melissa Endlich)
    A Horseman’s Hope by Myra Johnson (Heartsong Presents * Editor: Rebecca Germany)
    Lost Legacy by Dana Mentink (Love Inspired * Editor: Emily Rodmell)

    Heart Echoes by Sally John (Tyndale House * Editors: Karen Watson/Stephanie Broene/Kathy Olson)
    You Don’t Know Me by Susan May Warren (Tyndale House * Editors: Karen Watson/Sarah Mason)
    Beyond the Storm by Carolyn Zane (Abingdon Press * Editor: Ramona Richards)

    Wildflowers from Winter by Katie Ganshert (Waterbrook/Multnomah * Editor: Shannon Marchese)
    Proof by Jordyn Redwood (Kregel * Editor: Dawn Anderson)
    A Sweethaven Summer by Courtney Walsh (Guideposts Books * Editors: Beth Adams/Rachel Meisel/Lindsay Guzzardo)

    Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatrick (Waterbrook/Multnomah * Editor: Shannon Marchese)
    At Every Turn by Anne Mateer (Bethany House * Editor: Charlene Patterson)
    The Discovery by Dan Walsh (Revell * Editor: Andrea Doering)

    To Whisper Her Name by Tamera Alexander (Zondervan * Editor: Sue Brower)
    A Promise to Love by Serena B. Miller (Revell * Editor: Vicki Crumpton)
    Short-Straw Bride by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House * Editor: Karen Schurrer)

    Downfall by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan * Editors: David Lambert/Sue Brower/Ellen Tarver)
    Gone to Ground by Brandilyn Collins (B&H Publishing * Editor: Karen Ball)
    The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller (Barbour Publishing * Editors: Rebecca Germany/Jamie Chavez)

    (continued on reverse)

    (continued from front)

    You’re a Charmer, Mr. Grinch by Paula Moldenhauer (Barbour Publishing * Editors: Rebecca Germany/JoAnne Simmons)
    Impressed by Love by Lisa Karon Richardson (Barbour Publishing * Editor: Rebecca Germany)
    A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson * Editor: Natalie Hanemann)

    The Accidental Bride by Denise Hunter (Thomas Nelson * Editors: Natalie Hanemann/L. B. Norton)
    Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard (B&H Publishing * Editors: Julie Gwinn/Julie Carobini)
    An Uncommon Grace by Serena B. Miller (Howard * Editor: Holly Halverson)

    Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson * Editor: Ami McConnell)
    Saving Hope by Margaret Daley (Abingdon Press * Editor: Ramona Richards)
    When a Heart Stops by Lynette Eason (Revell * Editor: Andrea Doering)

    Daughter of Light by Morgan L. Busse (Marcher Lord Press * Editor: Jeff Gerke)
    Judge by R. J. Larson (Bethany House * Editors: David Long/Sarah Long)
    Daystar by Kathy Tyers (Marcher Lord Press * Editor: Jeff Gerke)

    Prophet by R.J. Larson (Bethany House * Editors: David Long/Sarah Long)
    Like Moonlight at Low Tide by Nicole Quigley (Zondervan * Editor: Jacque Alberta)
    The New Recruit by Jill Williamson (Marcher Lord Press * Editor: Jeff Gerke)

    The ACFW press conference at ICRS also spotlighted and paid tribute to a key influence in Christian fiction, the 2013 recipient of ACFW’s Lifetime Achievement Award—author Frank Peretti. ACFW CEO Colleen Coble expressed the motivation behind selecting Peretti to receive the Lifetime Achievement honor.

    “Frank Peretti has been called a publishing phenomenon when listing bestseller status, longevity of titles, and numbers of books,” said Coble. “His readers, however, talk of ‘life-change,’ ‘shifts in the way I thought about prayer,’ ‘the reason this reader was moved to take up writing,’ ‘changed my life forever,’ ‘made a commitment to Christ after reading his stories,’ ‘his books aided in my walk with Jesus,’ ‘God brought healing in my life through the book,’ ‘the first work of overtly Christian fiction that actually felt genuine (those years ago when I read Peretti in high school).’”

    Coble continued, “An author, thinker, and innovator whose storytelling has affected untold numbers since his books first reached bookstore shelves, Frank’s efforts continue to resonate. On behalf of readers, writers, and the publishing industry, thank you, Frank Peretti.”

    Peretti and winners of the Carol Awards will be honored at the ACFW conference in Indianapolis at the award gala on Sunday night, September 15 at the Hyatt Regency. Keynote speaker for the 2013 conference is Robin Jones Gunn. Authors, aspiring authors, industry guests, and representatives from every major CBA publishing house and literary agency will gather for this premier Christian fiction conference.

    ACFW is devoted to training in the craft of Christian Fiction, educating in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry. Approaching 3000 members with 29 local chapters in 21 states, as well as a beyond-the-borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction. For more information about ACFW and its conference, visit or contact ACFW’s professional relations liaison, Cynthia Ruchti, at