Join ACFW |  Forgot Password |  Login: 

September 2011

Margaret Daley, ACFW President

Margaret DaleyMargaret Daley is an award winning, multi-published author in the romance genre. One of her romantic suspense books, Hearts on the Line, won the ACFW Carol Award. She currently writes inspirational romance and romantic suspense books for Love Inspired, romantic suspense for Abingdon Press, and historical romance for Summerside Press. She has sold 75 books to date. Visit her at her website.

From the President: The Carol Awards

ACFW recently announced the 2011 Carol Award winners at the Awards Gala at annual conference. First, I want to congratulate all the winners—as well as finalists. What an accomplishment! This year’s list of winners is a stellar group of authors and books.

The Carol Awards is the premier Christian fiction award. ACFW has worked each year to heighten the awareness of the Carols in the industry. This year there was a 20 percent increase in entries. The competition was tough with five judges in every category. At least one was a bookseller or a librarian.

Read what some industry people are saying about the Carol Awards:

Steve Laube“The Carol Award winners are a shining example of the best and brightest the industry has to offer.” Steve Laube, President/Literary Agent, The Steve Laube Agency

Julie Gwinn“The Carol Award, aptly named for Christian fiction legend Carol Johnson, recognizes excellence in a growing industry—a designation I would think all authors would aspire to.” Julie Gwinn, Fiction Manager, B&H Publishing

Chip MacGregor“It’s clear the Carol Award, presented each year by ACFW, has become one of the most prestigious awards given to Christian novelists. As a literary agent, I pay close attention to who wins and who the finalists are. It has earned its place in the world of publishing.” Chip MacGregor, President, MacGregor Literary Inc.

Ramona Richards“The Carol Award is the gold standard in Christian fiction. As an editor, I take note of each winner and finalist because I know they have passed muster with some of the best judges in the industry. These are the authors whose words enlighten and entertain; the ones I want to read and acquire. They are our future.” Ramona Richards, Editor, Abingdon Press

I agree. The Carol Award is “one of the most prestigious awards given to Christian novelists.” It does represent “the best and brightest the industry has to offer.” ACFW will continue to work to elevate the Carol Awards in the industry.

back to ezine